Wednesday, November 10, 2004

yes THIS friday..

Hey folks..

Been a while since we sat down as SEUSS wannabe's in a non stressful enviroment. My suggestion:

Dinner:
friday evening
Time:
early ..around 6ish so that ya'll can still do your thing
Where:
Open to suggestions.. However Skeena suggests Mexican(three Amigos)
Why should we care what Skeena thinks?:
well it will be her birthday tommorow, so technically its 'her party'..lets show some love..
Post dinner options:
Polka at Hani's


Oh since we are already screaming towards next semester, we may need to think up ideas for a group project for 495. Check out my general idea by doing this survey..its already making its rounds campus(past week) and maybe you can help by sending it(copy paste link) to all your arts and management friends who use coursepacks(in the name of advance requirements elicitiation)...Oh and did i mention there might be financial incentives if we do this..ok ive given out too much info already..just do the survey! less then 5 mintues i swear..

Holla back..

PS send this to all the other S.E. u think should come..

Sunday, June 20, 2004

Denis sez..Hello SEUSS

More like goodbye SEUSS really..Didn't think you folks were alive until the sudden eruption of nostalgic emails..too bad I was sitting by the blog waiting for something to happen..(sniff sniff..I ran out of tissue!!). So youèll notice in a vain attempt to hammer the point home(even at the risk of lookin like a psychotic hermit with no friends), I posted your emails on the blog - so now we can pretend that you all actually pay attention to me and my ideas...(self delusion is all that really works these days..)

As Hani has testified the summer so far has been great, what with numerous roadtrips, lots of porch-drinking & babe watching, bullshit management summer courses, sweet flexible part time work on campus and so forth. Im acomfortablele with Haniès NP-Complete conclusion on my personality..A closer conclusion would be I was just flat out tired. Not used to Drivihundredseds of miles and getting no sleep all in 3 days. Great trip all the same..was fun watching Hani & Adnrea argue over how bad Hanis driving was. It was pretty bad..incase you were wondering.

My summers Many highlights thus far:

Iram i took your advice and interviewd EA for my class project..perhaps on of the smartest things youve probably ever suggested..someone remind meIwhy i dont usually listen to you..anyway..worked out great. I was a kid in candy store at their dvp studio downtown montreal. Gave me a chance to suck some corporate asI b4 i graduate.

I am workin at the faculty of Music in their music technology area..doing the ground work for maintaining their smart classrooms. Its a MAc-wide environmentoment..and LAAWd have mercy I have come to adore macs. we just upgraded the labs to OSX 10.3.4 - the OS is sheer genuis. It comes with beauty and elegance that is commonplace with ALL of apple products..power and functionality of UNIX. I cna now see why the mac user community is so tight. U folks should give it a try.
Ok enuff of sounding like a nerdy software enginner.

So not all hope is lost..despite my failed attempts to land an internship here this summer I managed to snag a stint at the Nairobi Stock exchange..(yes u wisecracking ,ignorant Canadians..we do have one..very vibrant one as well). Hopefully ill be doing some sort of systems development in their IT structure...should be a blast none the less -ILL BE HOME!

so I leave mtl on the 30th and will be back i think on the 2nd of September. I urge u stubborn children to use the blog. I even took the liberty of asking for more quota from those our nazi admin.

im out. Keep in touch.

PS hope u like the new look.
.
.
.

Skeena bobeena sez hello SEUSS

hey hey y'all( yes my american accent is baaaaaaack) :p

well its good to hear ur all doing well and enjoying the summer :)..May as well enjoy it cuz then its gonna be another of the usual 8 months back in montreal!! Anywyas, Im havin a good time as well although summer classes are kinda long on some days. I have organic lab in like an hour so I need to read up on the pre lab soon ...yeah yeah i dont wanna hear anyones 'wtf u doing organic for' jokes...its actually good fun lol. The class is only 22 ppl so i cant come late to class anymore :(...here ppl not only get here on time but they get to class 10 mins early...so yupppers its totally like high school again( considering more than half the ppl are from my high school as well) and theres a few of us studying for DAT/ MCAT so its cool :)

yeah so bram u stop by...ill run out and meet u at the street cornerlol :p...actually im coming to montreal for canada day so if any of u are around ill try and say hi:)

right so ,i guess since everyone else has been making money ( except me since I have this mucked up passion for studying or something ) we'll have some good revenue in the seuss donation box now huh ( ofcourse theres a donation box)...an uughh the constitution...bram send me the part that u still have ( if u do still have it ) and il send it back to u..this time ill keep a backup copy on my computer, my cs account, my ece account, my dads compuer, my friends computer, etc etc :)



take care everyone!

Skeena

Sarah sez hello SEUSS

And I guess it would be my turn now :)

Hey everyone! From what I can tell sounds like you're all having a good summer!

Now about me... hehe. I'm having fun here for the summer. Working everyday is really starting to suck but whatever.. theyr'e paying me enough so I shut up about it! Job is good. I work with some awesome ppl and my boss is the coolest person in the world. Not too sure how much I'm liking programming though as a long term thing or software engineering for that matter. I've been thinking of going into teaching and getting my certificate in Ottawa after I graduate. Not sure yet if this is just a phase so I guess we'll see. And no I do *not* have plans of marrying Scott and having babies. BUT if it so happens that
way I can't say I'll be upset.. hehe JUST KIDDING!!!!!!!!!!!!!

My parents are coming up for a bit in July so I'll get spoiled rotten. Then I'm going home for the last week in August. Honestly nothing else is new here. Grand Prix was a ton of fun, looking forward to the Jazz Festival. Hmm...... if at some point I get any interesting stories/pics I'll share.

Take care everyone!!!
Sarah.

Hani sez hello SEUSS

hello all,,,
I am still in montreal, surviving the summer classes and enjoying the
summer.

I managed to break into denis's apt. and take some photos of what he does when we are in class, please find the attached pic. helpful to understand how denis organizes his time/work. we also rented a car and went to Ontartio this weekend. it was a good trip, I got hip-hop educated by denis, it was well presented "art of listening" by denis. managed to get a good shot of him sleeping at the back seet feeling all causy.... enjoy that one too.and after this trip, I came to the NP-complete concluasion....this guy is SOOO laid back, its beyond belief!!! hehe, u know its true denis,,,mathematically, for all the reasons we (SUESS people) know about denis, and the fact that he forgot his shoes and even worse HIS WALLET in the rental car. therefore, the above statement is correct!

I saw bram today, he was about to leave going back home. it was good to c u buddy,,,, have fun in NY,, sorry I had to run, but I was late for class.I also saw sara at Cafe Campus,,,if you remember anything,,,, please advise :p and I talked to sakeena, and she told me that her sister was lost,, did u find her yet? and hows that high school of urs, I mean uni. treating ya?

eileen is left out from this seen, so when u come up to M-town, HOLA me,, or shout my name, ask the people in the street if they know where I live and pass by... we'll do something fun, right sara?
for all who care, and who dont care, I am heading back home on the 30th of june....
regards,
Hani

Bram sez Hello SEUSS??

So I'm just finishing my final paper for this course that Skeena told me to take. Its the BIGGEST joke I've ever been a part of. No matter what I hand in the prof always gives me 85% or higher. I've been trying to hand in work that's really bad to see if I can get a worse mark...but no, always 85%. Its reall very wild, I urge all of those who need a GPA boost to take it, and to those of you who don't need a GPA boost, well F$%# you! I saw Sara last week, she seems to hate her job and claims to never want to work in programming again. She also informed me that her and scooter will be moving in together after graduation. Then proceed to get married then have babies. I'm leaving
Montreal in about six hours. From here I head to Toronto for two days, then I'm off to New York City. I'm seeing two shows in NYC, then I'm off to Saratoga Spring for two more shows. Maybe as I pass through Albany Skeena can wait on the main corner and wave as I drive by. After the four shows I'm back in toronto for another two day stay, then I'm off to camp. I hope the remainder of the summer is as kind to all of you as it should be to me. One more year...oh god. Take care all, and have fun.
Bram.

Eileen sez..Hello SEUSS??

Dear SEUSS,

I just thought I’d write everyone to see how things are going. Almost
half the summer is up and I haven’t heard from anyone but Sarah so I’m
just checking in with everyone to see if everyone is still alive and
kickin’.

So I work for drug dealers in Toronto (ha… pharmaceutical company, GSK)it’s pretty cool. Meeting a lot of cool people and having a chill time with the family. It’s so odd being home but it’s good racking in the cash this summer. No regrets about not going to Norway. People here seem like they’re always on a high, always so positive and happy I sometimes wonder if they have levitra (like viagra) or paxil
(anti-depression drug) circulating through the ventilation system. I’ve even become a very positive person over the past two month (other factors may have contributed in my life but generally I’m blaming gsk
for my optimism and chipper attitude).

For those who hated courses from the last year, I have bad news for
you. Here in the real world I’ve had to make a FSDS (functional
specification/ Design Specification), Test Plants, Business Requirement
Plans, using Hypothesis testing to do Metrics to make documentation,
Change control documentation, and I am doing a bit of coding and I get
to play with crazy wireless devices they only really use in the
industry. The good news is, they have templates here where you just
fill in the blanks and it’s honestly kind of interesting and fun. All
the documents have the be signed off by 3 people (author[me], project
leaders, and QA manager). It’s crazy but surprisingly very gratifying.
Being a Software engineer is not bad at all.

What is everyone up to? How is your summer going? I want to hear about summer flings (yeah, you too skeena!). Who has the bloody constitution? Who is going to finish the constitution? Where are you
right now? Will anyone be in Toronto? Is anyone still in Montreal?

Hope you are having an awesome weekend,
Cheers,
Eileen

.
.
.

Thursday, April 29, 2004

anyone out there??

Ok its pretty clear no one else gives a fuck..so I decided to ignore u guys and make the site even slicker than it is just for me...
We (Myself, me and I that is) can now use the calender over ---> to post events and stay in sync with whats going on...test it out with the lil ugy interface i put down on the side bar by putting in your birthdays, important anniversaries, not so important anniversaries.. etc etc.
Hellooo summer...
Ok ..its getting spooky in here..all the silence is killing me..i"ma go.
Eileen hows Glaxo treatin ya so far?
.
.
.

Monday, April 19, 2004

Grad project anyone???

OK so me and Bram had grande illusions of glamour and riches for SEUSS through a meticulously planned session while studying for our networks course..Thanks to Vybihals exccelent course(NOT) we are going to create the next internet..ok so maybe it wont be thaat glamourous..

THe general idea is that it would be great to leave some sort of legacy, u know,being the first set of graduating software engineers. It should be our project in essence should leave something functional, useful, COOL.

No pie in the sky ideaologes..just something practical and interesting...... come up with suggestions though and for petes sake POST!!! what are u folks scared??????? no pressure though :). hehe....

My suggestion is as follows:

Artificial CS/SEUSS advisor:
A simple pattern matcher that acts like a chat program to answer common questions students have about courses in the program. I mean i had TOns of questions that Judy or whatsherface couldnt asnswer, and basically i (and am sure many others) want a more HUMAN , real course description than the mcgill academic calender offers.. I mean who are we kidding..all of the INTRODUCTORY courses we have taken have not been oh so introductory. So the aim is to make this as colloquial and humerous while offering the handy info from people who actually ATTEND the classes. (hence useful, cool, and hopefulyl functional). It can be updated each beginning of sem by getting the nice fresh descriptions from the assigned profs.

Basically this would be a handy DYNAMIC FAQ page if ur having trouble seeing what I see. I tracked down the idea on the web so check it out(.ps format)..tell me what u think. I think for implementation we can use Python coz it needs to be an interpreted language. I'm sure theres plenty of documentation and help on the web since python is legit and object oriented.

Time span for the project , whatever we choose will be the whole of next year i guess.

I'm excited about it..hopefully u guys are game. The more the merrier.
.
.
.
.

Thursday, April 15, 2004

Complementary next fall?

Ok folks..I'm not here to coax and cajole...But i think just maybe more than one person should be blogging in order to get this site active!!!!

I understand there have been issuess with people(*%#*) not getting the invitation email..but cmon...its been like a week now..I'm pretty sure u kids have a lot to say.

Anyway..I want to know who else is taking AI out there..I'm think i'm in. Have thought about it for a while..still have to talk to some folks whove taken it alreayd..and basically if i'm getting screwed..i dont want to be alone..
Sarah I know u want to do Computer vision..is it ECSE??too lazy to go and check right now..

Wednesday, April 07, 2004

didnt believe me did ya...

Hey folks..now u can ofiicially bitch about me to my face..haha..jus a lil free room to vent out all that pent up frustration for never seeing me in class..yes..this is what i've been doing all that time..lol..i knew this would be the perfect excuse to miss class..will u guys let me off the hook now? darn..i thought it'd be easy..

Anyway..heres a friggin ugly preview of the site..PLEASE FEEL FREE TO modify it..it is being hosted on my mimi account which is fine until Suess gets a hundred other people using the site!!(upon which drastic measures will be taken) Blogger is ridikyulassly easy to use..and so is HTMl..i will make u folks admins as soon as u sign on...

Basically, get ur seussblog on!!!